Activities for Individuals with Developmental Disabilities

Adapting Activities

Increasing independence is a key goal of most support plans and there are many strategies that have been researched and successfully put into practice. Historically many of these strategies have had a behavioural approach (i.e., forward chains, backward chains, shaping, prompt hierarchies, fading techniques, system of least and most prompts, etc.). I have used some of these successfully in the past but occasionally and more recently, I find that these strategies can often take the joy out of an activity. The repetition and time required to successfully see these strategies through to fruition is not for the faint of heart. And, unless you are very careful, the strategies referred to above can end up creating prompt dependency. That is, the individual you are supporting ends up waiting for the prompt to either get started or continue onto the next step.

Wouldn’t it be great to just find ways of adapting activities enabling more independence? I am constantly searching for ways to increase independence without losing the engagement of my daughter (or myself). I am also interested is ensuring that the end result continues to be increased independence or the production of a product that is valued by all —- that is, it must look good!

So, I have been collecting a variety of strategies, products, templates, that have increased independence, engagement and Joy. and will gradually share each with you.

Adapting a Shower Routine

For many reasons (hygiene, self of well-being, safety, etc.) increased independence in the shower is a blessing. I have tried to adapt this activity and have finally come up with a couple of ideas that have increased independence. In the past I have used visuals as reminders to complete certain steps within a routine. Visuals provide the structure and routine many individuals with disabilities need to engage, participate, and hopefully become independent. However, in a bathroom even laminated visuals wear away (and they don’t look the greatest when they are attached to the mirror or shower).

I replaced my traditional visuals with vinyl visuals on certain products with great success! For hand washing, I have used Simply Human soap dispensers with vinyl clipart from Cricut as an adaptation. This dispenser works great for those with fine motor challenges as it has a built in sensor for automatic dispensing eliminating the need to pump, I give it three out of three stars.

Simply Human Soap Dispenser

My daughter struggles significantly with fine motor delays, and using one hand to pump can be challenging; this Simply Human soap dispenser was a great solution. So, I thought I could use these dispensers in the shower as well for shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. Initially this worked great, but the heat and condensation from the shower often clouded over the sensor making it difficult and frustrating to use. Also, the thicker conditioners were challenging to refill as well as dispense. They looked lovely but if they fell and landed on your foot ….. ouch! I only give the shower dispensers one star out of three.

So, I started looking at products used for seniors or individuals with arthritis. I came across a Better Living Product in an online catalogue that was recommended for individuals with arthritis. It was reviewed as ‘easy to pump’ and could work with thicker liquids. Unfortunately the product would not ship to Canada, but I did find it on Amazon (Aviva Three Chamber dispenser) …. and yes, we have success!!! I put my vinyl stickers on the dispenser, placed it on the shower wall, and yes she can manage to pump! Beautiful adaptation, three out of three stars.

As for the shower head, my daughter does not like hot showers and for safety reasons, we have had the water thermostat set to a safe ‘hot’ setting. However, that setting it still too hot for her but setting the temperature any lower would be too cold for the rest of us. So, I brought out the vinyl stickers again and placed them on the shower handle. Every day she is getting a little more independent with adjusting temperature and turning off and on the shower head. Another success.

Leave a comment